The Vikings claim a historic NFL title that no one wants

The Minnesota Vikings hold a distinction that no NFL franchise or professional sports organization wants to hold.

The Minnesota Vikings underwent an overhaul after yet another disappointing season, as they hired Kwesi Adofo-Mensah as general manager and Kevin O’Connell as head coach. The hope is that with these hires, Minnesota can head in the right direction. They need to, based off this latest distinction the franchise holds.

In CBS Sports’ tweet below, they say the Vikings are the only NFL franchise to not win a championship after 60-plus years of existence.

Vikings hold distinction no NFL franchise wants to hold

In fairness, the Vikings have won a title in their history. That was the NFL Championship back in 1969, but it took place prior to the NFL’s merger with the AFL in 1970.

Still, Minnesota has no Super Bowl victories to their credit, which has to hurt for the fanbase. They did make it to the big game three times in their history, and here is how they performed in each:

  • Super Bowl 8 (1973): lost 7-24 to Miami Dolphins
  • Super Bowl 9 (1974): lost 6-16 to the Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Super Bowl 11 (1976): lost 14-32 to Oakland Raiders

Besides the three Super Bowl appearances, they hold six NFC Championship Game losses. Their most recent NFC Championship Game berth happened in 2017, where they made it following the “Minneapolis Miracle” touchdown pass from Case Keenum to Stefon Diggs against the New Orleans Saints. However, the Philadelphia Eagles advanced to Super Bowl 52 following a 38-7 win over Minnesota.

The Vikings fanbase has waited a long time for the team to win a Lombardi Trophy. Will that happen this upcoming season? Who knows.

Leave a Comment